Just breathe…

For the past little while some people — lesbian type people — have been skimping on their breathing. This happens more times than I care to mention, but for some reason it’s happening more and more often and is beginning to have some deleterious effects for those of us working for the cause.

To remedy the situation, I have a request of all of you who find that you’re doing this. Plant your feet flat on the floor, drop your shoulders down from your ears and for one minute just …

Deeply. Slowly. From your core. Breathe in deeply to the count of five, hold it a moment and then breathe out just as slowly for another five count.

Do this each time you notice you aren’t breathing. Til it becomes a healthy habit. Please. It would be most helpful.

And for anyone who does this and finds that she is no longer doing plagued by shallow breathing, know that when you least expect it, someone wonderful is going to give you a wee kiss on the forehead. Just our lesbian way of spreading the energy of a heartfelt thank you.

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween. On hiatus from writing anywhere else but here ... at least for now.
This entry was posted in lesbian, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Just breathe…

  1. valerie says:

    I must be doing something wrong. I’ve been breathing plenty. No lesbian in sight !
    Perhaps I am using the wrong muscles? Should I be breathing through the nose? or the mouth? Yoga breathing? or Pilates?…. Would alternate nostrils help?? 😉

    • FS says:

      Hmmm… Breathing in through your nose might be a good start, although to be honest, I have yet to study which style of breathing best attracts lesbians, or whether it’s a good thing to attract lesbians through a style of breathing. Having said that, each to her own 😉. If it works, why not?

  2. makingspace1 says:

    Thank you! I’ve been forgetting to breathe lately, yes – this is a lovely reminder, and one I can put into practice any time…

  3. anilavida says:

    Thanks for the reminder. I was needing that today.😀

  4. natasiarose says:

    I forget to breathe all the time. It’s a problem.:/

  5. bookishbutch says:

    That was fun and therapeutic, thanks. So do I get a wee kiss on the forehead? My grandma used to do that, I loved my grandma, special lady, but she wasn’t a lesbian so I’ll have to collect from someone else

    • FS says:

      BB: Yes of course you get a wee kiss on the forehead…. the next time you catch yourself holding your breath, or breathing only to the point of the hollow of your throat, as in shallowly, and you step back and remind yourself to breathe deeply… a lesbian angel will take note and put in motion those forces that will result in you getting a wee kiss on the forehead form someone wonderful who is also a lesbian.😉

  6. Dace says:

    looking for all the reasons to breath. However, I have to remind you that you have to live. Life is what matters the most. Getting hung on one thing makes your life pass by way too fast and when you realize that, it might be a bit too late

Comments are closed.