Lesbian words

let words take wing

~~

It’s time to stake out some territory that’s just ours, just for lesbians. Our club. I’m all for acceptance, being able to get what everybody else gets, but this assimilation thing is a bit much.

To counter this assimilation, (aka invisibility, homogenization) I am suggesting that we create our own language, using long-lost words, and begin to use them to reinforce the notion that if you are a lesbian, there is a language you speak that only other lesbians will understand. And I will state for the lesbian record that these words are my choices, based on my lesbian life experience: these words speak to me. I have said these words over and over all week.

As to their origins: the words are old and nearly forgotten, but were found and given new life in a 2009 cool art show, The Art of Lost Words.

I’m certain that the artists won’t mind that I use the words they found to be part of a 21st century, nascent Lesbian Lexicon. However, I can’t do it alone. How about a wee, friendly game? Use each word in a sentence, or all of them in a paragraph? Tasteful. Thoughtful. Fun. Anything really as long as it’s respectful. Wouldjya? Couldjya? Please?

If none of the words here appeal to you, feel free to submit your word, along with an example of how and when to use it.

Once we have enough examples of how the words are easy to use, I think we can start the process of spreading the lesbian words.

REDAMANCY: n. the act of loving in return

MURKLINS: adv. in the dark; as in ‘stumbling murklins’

CACOTOPIA: n. a state in which everything is as bad as can be

ANTITHALIAN: adj. opposed to fun or festivities

GAUDILOQUENT: adj. speaking joyfully or on joyful matters

LABASCATE: v. to begin to fall or slide

Words are magic, opening imagination, opening hearts, opening mind. Our words can be splendiforously inspiring, magicmaginations: heartstealing, soothing, igniting fierceness and deep calm, happykindasad.

Maybe it’s just me and my madness for words. But since there are 10 people now who read this blog, I’d like to see if we can’t in our own quiet and determined way, do something fun that fights the good fight against unnecessary invisibility and assimilation.

<Stepping down from the pink soapbox> In a week or so, I’ll gather up all the deliciousness of the offerings for a new Lesbian Lexicon, and make a special post.

Thank you and I really, really, look forward to hearing from you.

About FS

Toronto, Canada. Writing about slices of life, the moments and minor details of which come into awareness or out of imagination and the spaces inbetween. On hiatus from writing anywhere else but here ... at least for now.
This entry was posted in being a lesbian, lesbian, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lesbian words

  1. Thanks for this…there sure is poetry brewing from this post….Namaste

  2. makingspace1 says:

    Oops, I think I replied under the wrong comment tree. Never mind, I’m a soprano, I can take multiple bows. Heh.

    • fs says:

      Hmmm can you do mezzo?

      • makingspace1 says:

        Let’s put it this way. I have the attitude for Carmen, but not the lower range. And I definitely have more of a soprano-ey temperament. Ask those closest to me. I say, adjusting the paper bag a bit more firmly down over my head…

      • fs says:

        MS: Is the paper bag a princess reference or a hiding of your identity? I am trying to get my head around a couple of bits of information: Soprano-ey temperament (plus) possible PMS (plus) lesbian and I’m thinking.. that 1+2+3 = not a dull life. Wow.

      • makingspace1 says:

        Hiding the megalomania behind the paper bag. You are right. Not a dull life. Heh.

  3. makingspace1 says:

    I proclaim with gaudiloquence my joy at discovering redamancy since I came out.

  4. bookish butch says:

    Hmm, how about? butchyness, a fav of mine, a contraction of butch and sillyness.
    Don’t mind me I’m giddy tonight, methinks it’s a case of Readamancy.
    Lovely post:-)

    • fs says:

      Dear BB: Ooh, I like it. Can you give me a sentence using it? AND: Readamancy is good too! Is that when a book loves you back?

      • bookish butch says:

        A sentence huh? Well, let’s see,

        **They frolicked in the waves and sand and Miranda thought she had never met anyone quite like Bea, such strength and yet such joie de vivre, and then it came to her, Bea dripped butchyness, butch and silly, all rolled into one, sigh.**

        I was thinking a woman loves you back but, books work as well:-)

      • fs says:

        Ohhh… So it wasn’t intentional to use the word Readamancy? I thought adding in the ‘e’ was intentional My dear BB: I do believe that you just invented an additional word. Way to go ;-)!

  5. scimmia says:

    Lesbialect — n. a language or speech pattern that is a characteristic of a particular group of the language’s speakers (lesbians).

Comments are closed.